Construction Site on Christmas Night: (Christmas Book for Kids, Children?s Book, Holiday Picture Book)

Construction Site on Christmas Night: (Christmas Book for Kids, Children?s Book, Holiday Picture Book)

3.1 out of 5 Customer Rating
  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 19.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 113ms
  • reviews, product
  • bvseo-msg: Unsuccessful GET. status = 'ERROR', msg = 'Not Found.';

Sold and shipped by or fulfilled through Amazon.com


Details

Product description From the author of the #1 New York Times bestselling Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site series. More than two million copies have sold across the series! Created for lovers of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site, as well as fans of Sherri Duskey Rinker's storytelling and AG Ford's art, this beautiful holiday picture book shows Excavator, Bulldozer, Crane, Dump Truck and Cement Mixer building a new home for fire engines. As they finish their big, important job, they get their own Christmas surprises. Your kids will have fun discovering the special surprise awaiting each vehicle as much as they will love rhyming along with the story. This cute book is sure to be a classic! Art by illustrator AG Ford. ? A Christmas tale with a great message ? Teaches kids the joy of giving and the value of work ? Rhythmic patterns make reading fun Fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site, Mighty, Mighty Construction Site, and Excavator's 123 will be excited about this children's holiday book. ? Ideal Christmas gift for little ones ? Perfect book for children who like construction, trucks, fire engines, cars, and building things ? Parents, grandparents, and teachers will have fun reading this action-packed story to kids From School Library Journal PreS-Gr 1-Rinker is back with her construction vehicles prepping for the holidays. The rhyming text follows how the machines work hard to construct a "special house" that must be ready for Christmas Eve. Each machine is allotted three or four pages to describe their work, before being given a gift (Bulldozer gets a new carbon steel blade), and then bidden Merry Christmas and Goodnight. Once Crane finishes the job by topping the construction with a star, new fire trucks and rescue vehicles roll in, and readers realize what has been built: a new fire station. As usual, these happy trucks are anthropomorphized just enough to appeal to kids. The neocolor wax oil crayon illustrations offer bright colors and scenes that are engaging without being overwhelming, ending with peaceful, snowy scenes. Although this is a bit lengthy for toddler audiences, children will love shouting out the names of the vehicles and the parts they are gifted, as well as guessing what they're creating. ­VERDICT Rinker's popularity makes this holiday title a first purchase for all public libraries. It's perfect for one-on-one and small group sharing.-Liz Anderson, DC Public Library?(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted. Review #1 New York Times Bestseller Country Living Magazine's 20 Best Christmas Books for Kids Red Tricycle Best Holiday Books for Babies and Toddlers Parenting.com Best Christmas and Holiday Books for Kids "A Yuletide tale of hard work, happy surprises and the gratification of a job well done." - The Wall Street Journal "A celebration of teamwork, hard work and pride in a job well done." - The San Francisco Chronicle "Vroom! If your child loves Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site, then they will adore this Christmas book." - Parenting.com "Fans of Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site rejoice! This is the perfect Christmas Eve book." - Romper "An excellent addition to the series and a welcome Christmas gift idea for even the smallest construction fans." - The Children's Book Review "A delight for truck lovers, holiday fans, and kids who enjoy some rhythmic verse as they nod off to dreamland." - Common Sense Media "If you have little ones who love Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and Mighty, Mighty, Construction Site, this holiday book will bring them just as much construction joy!" - Red Tricycle "Fans of Sherri Duskey Rinker's Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site will love her new holiday themed picture book." - Omnivoracious "Delightful" - Everyday Reading "Truck lovers will gladly welcome the friendly rigs for Christmas." - Publishers Weekly "Return to the world of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site with the same dedicated trucks and action-packed rhymes-now with a bit of holiday cheer thrown in." - The Horn Book About the Author Sherri Duskey Rinker is the author of #1 New York Times bestsellers Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site; Steam Train, Dream Train; and Mighty, Mighty Construction Site, and The 12 Sleighs of Christmas. She loves cooking, gardening, and old oil paintings. Sherri lives with her photographer husband, two sons, one dog, and one hedgehog in St. Charles, Illinois. Find out more about her at Sherriduskeyrinker.com. A recipient of the NAACP Image Award, AG Ford has illustrated many award-winning books for children including Goal! by Mina Javaherbin and the New York Times bestseller Barack by Jonah Winter. He lives in Dallas, Texas.

Reviews

  • bvseo_sdk, dw_cartridge, 19.1.0, p_sdk_3.2.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 39ms
  • reviews, product
  • bvseo-msg: Unsuccessful GET. status = 'ERROR', msg = 'Not Found.'; Unsuccessful GET. status = 'ERROR', msg = 'Not Found.';